JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 992

What is a Philippine Visa?

A Philippine Visa is an endorsement made on a travel document by a consular officer at a Philippine Embassy or Consulate abroad denoting that the visa application has been properly examined and that the bearer is permitted to proceed to the Philippines and request permission from the Philippine Immigration authorities at the ports of entries to enter the country.  The visa thus issued is not a guarantee that the holder will be automatically admitted into the country, because the admission of foreign nationals into the Philippines is a function of the immigration authorities at the port of entry.

Definition of a Foreign Tourist (Temporary Visitor)

A “foreign tourist” is defined as a person without distinction as to race, gender, language or religion, who is proceeding o the Philippines for a legitimate, nonimmigrant purpose such as sightseeing, sports, health, family reasons, training or study (excluding enrolment in schools for the purpose of obtaining a title or degree), religious pilgrimage, business, cultural and scientific purposes. 

Guidelines on the Entry of Temporary Visitors to the Philippines

Nationals from countries listed below who are traveling to the Philippines for business and tourism purposes are allowed to enter the Philippines without visas for a stay not exceeding twenty-one (21) days, provided they hold valid tickets for their return journey to port of origin or next port of destination and their passports valid for a period of at least six (6) months beyond the contemplated period of stay.  However, Immigration Officers at ports of entry may exercise their discretion to admit holders of passports valid for at least sixty (60) days beyond the intended period of stay.

Standard Procedure/Minimum Requirements for Applying a Temporary Visitor’s Visa

Application for a temporary visitor’s visa must be made in person.  In the case of a minor under eighteen (18) years of age, the application may be made for him by a person who, in the opinion of the consular officer, is responsible for his/her welfare. The minor, not an infant in arms, shall be required to appear at the Consulate for interview, together with the person making the application for him/her.

Applicants for temporary visitor’s visa should normally apply at the Philippine Embassy or Consulate that has jurisdiction over their place of residence. While some visa applicants may apply at any Philippine Embassy or Consulate abroad, others are only allowed to apply his/her visa at the Philippine Embassy or Consulate in his country of origin or legal residence.

The following are the minimum requirements for applying a temporary visitor’s visa:

  1. Passport/Travel Document Valid for at least six (6) months beyond the intended period of stay in the Philippines;

  2. Duly Accomplished Visa application forms;

  3. 2 copies of Passport Size Photos;

  4. Itinerary of Travel (Must indicate inbound and outbound flights from the Philippines);

  5. Invitation Letter/Guarantee Letter;
  6. Hotel Bookings;

  7. Certificate of Employment/Business Permit/Bank Statement;
  8. Copy each of Identification Cards; and
  9. Payment of Visa Fees.


- Processing time for the application for restricted nationals may take 10 to 30 days depending on evaluation of documents submitted.
- The Embassy has sole discretion in determining the suitability of an applicant to be issued of Philippine visa.
- For further visa inquiries, please contact the Embassy's Visa Section at 03-601-0503/0507/0514 or send an email to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Nationals from the following countries are allowed to enter the Philippines without a visa for a period of stay of twenty-one (21) days or less:

1. Andorra
2. Angola
3. Antigua and Barbuda
4. Argentina
5. Australia
6. Austria
7. Bahamas
8. Bahrain
9. Barbados
10. Belgium
11. Benin
12. Bhutan
13. Bolivia
14. Botswana
15. Brazil*
16. Brunei Darussalam
17. Bulgaria
18. Burkina Faso
19. Burundi
20. Cambodia
21. Cameroon
22. Canada
23. Cape Verde
24.Central African Republic
25. Chad
26. Chile
27. Colombia
28. Comoros
29. Congo
30. Costa Rica
31. Cote d’Ivoire
32. Cyprus
33. Czech Republic
34. Democratic Republic of the Congo
35. Denmark
36. Djibouti
37. Dominica
38. Dominican Republic
39. Ecuador
40. El Salvador
41. Equatorial Guinea
42. Eritrea
43. Ethiopia
44. Fiji
45. Finland
46. France
47. Gabon
48. Gambia
49. Germany
50. Ghana
51. Gibraltar
52. Greece
53. Grenada
54. Guatemala
55. Guinea
56. Guinea Bissau
57. Guyana
58. Haiti
59. Honduras
60. Hungary
61. Iceland
62. Indonesia
63. Ireland
64. Israel*
65. Italy
66. Jamaica
67. Japan
68. Kenya
69. Kiribati
70. Kuwait
71. Lao People’s Democratic Republic
72. Lesotho
73. Liberia

74. Liechtenstein
75. Luxembourg
76. Madagascar
77. Malawi
78. Malaysia
79. Maldives
80. Mali
81. Malta
82. Marshall Islands
83. Mauritania
84. Mauritius
85. Mexico
86. Micronesia
87. Monaco
88. Mongolia
89. Morocco
90. Mozambique
91. Myanmar
92. Namibia
93. Nepal
94. Netherlands
95. New Zealand
96. Nicaragua
97. Niger
98. Norway
99. Oman
100. Palau
101. Panama
102. Papua New Guinea
103. Paraguay
104. Peru
105. Poland
106. Portugal
107. Qatar
108. Republic of Korea
109. Romania
110. Rwanda
111. Saint Kitts and Nevis
112. Saint Lucia
113. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
114. Samoa
115. San Marino
116. Sao Tome and Principe
117. Saudi Arabia
118. Senegal
119. Seychelles
120. Singapore
121. Slovakia
122. Solomon Islands
123. Somalia
124. South Africa
125. Spain
126. Suriname
127. Swaziland
128. Sweden
129. Switzerland
130. Thailand
131. Togo
132. Trinidad and Tobago
133. Tunisia
134. Turkey
135. Tuvalu
136. Uganda
137. United Arab Emirates
138. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
139. United Republic of Tanzania
140. United States of America
141. Uruguay
142. Venezuela
143. Vietnam
144. Zambia
145. Zimbabwe

*The following are allowed to enter the Philippines without a visa for a stay not exceeding fifty-nine (59) days.

  1. Holders of Brazil passports; and

  2. Holders of Israel passports

The following are allowed to enter the Philippines without a visa for a stay not exceeding seven (7) days.

  1. Holders of Hong Kong Special Administrative (SAR) passports

  2. Holders of British National Overseas (BNO) passports

  3. Holders of Portuguese Passports issued in Macao

  4. Holders of Macao Special Administrative Region (SAR) passports

Important Note:

Nationals who are subjects of deportation/blacklist orders of the Department and the Bureau of Immigration shall not be admitted to the Philippines. Further inquiries may be addressed to the Visa Division (Telephone numbers: +632.834.4854, +632.834.3707, and +632.834.4810), Department of Foreign Affairs, 2330 Roxas Boulevard, Pasay City or to any Philippine Embassy or Consulate abroad.